Change the world

3rd Engagement Colloquium – 19 June 2017

North Campus Conference Centre Auditorium


Left to right: Ms Nicki-Ann Rayepen, Ms Lesley Young, Mr Michael Barry, Prof Esmeralda Ricks, Dr Belinda du Plooy, Dr Jennifer Jansen, Ms Shanene Olivera, Dr Eileen Scheckle, Ms Mingon du Preez




Welcome : Aims and Objectives of the Colloquium

Prof Andrew Leitch, Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research and Engagement



Institutional Engagement

Prof George de Lange, Director: Engagement Office


Dr Jennifer Jansen; Dr Rosemary Exner & Ms Mingon du Preez 2016 Engagement Excellence Project Award Winners, Missionvale Community Psychology Centre


Prof Esmeralda Ricks & Ms Shanene Olivera, Faculty of Health Sciences: Zanempilo Mobile Health Clinic


Mr Kempie van Rooyen, Psychology, Rape Crisis Interventions


Mr Clive Hands, Shell Eco-car Marathon, Mechanical Engineering


Ms Kim Elliott Student Governance, 2016 Engagement Project Award Winners: 67 Hours


Mr Jabu Bam & Ms Zikhona Tube, Centre for Community School, Faculty of Education


Prof Janet Cherry, Development Studies, Transition Township Kwazakhele


Dr Eileen Scheckle & Ms Lesley Young, Masikulisane Reading Project, Faculty of Education


Mr Gareth Williams, Music, 2016 Emerging Engagement Excellence Award Winner

Mr Michael Barry & Nicki-Ann Rayepen, Arts, Culture and Heritage


Prof Margaret Cullen & Prof André Calitz, 2016 Engagement Excellence Award Winners, Business School: Nelson Mandela Bay Project