SeroLean HORMONAL HARMONY HB5 EndoPeak GLUCONITE JOINT ETERNAL LANTA FLAT BELLY SHAKE PRONERVIUM NERVOGEN PRO Pineal XT PROSTASTREAM SeroLean SeroLean SeroLean SeroLean SeroLean SeroLean potent stream potent stream potent stream quietum plus Gluco Shield Pro Gluco Shield Pro Sumatra Slim Belly Tonic Sumatra Slim Belly Tonic Sumatra Slim Belly Tonic Zen Cortex Zen Cortex Zen Cortex aizen power hormonal harmony hb-5 pineal xt potent stream prostadine prostadine quietum plus tonic greens emperor's vigor tonic

Change the world

Dr Belinda du Plooy (Engagement Office), Prof Werner Olivier (2014 Engagement Excellence Award Winner), Mr Karl du Preez (2012 Engagement Excellence Award Winner), Prof George de Lange (Engagement Office), Dr Ann Lourens (2014 Engagement Excellence Team Award Winner) and Mr Kempie van Rooyen (2014 Emerging Engagement Excellence Award Winner) at the First Engagement Colloquium organised by CAEC.


 1st Engagement Colloquium

27 October 2014

To view PowerPoint slide shows of any of the individual presentations: click on the appropriate presentation document from the list of downloadable documents ('Files you can Download') on the right of this page.

To view video clips of any of the individual presentations: scroll down this page and click on the relevant presentation's video clip icon and photo.


Welcome : Aims and Objectives of the Colloquium

Prof Thoko Mayekiso, DVC: R&E

Reviewing progress made in achieving Vision 2020  engagement strategic goals and objectives and presenting new strategies and objectives

Prof Thoko Mayekiso

Institutional Engagement  Strengths and Weaknesses

Prof George de Lange, Director: CAEC

Questions and comments

Case Studies:  Best practice on the integration of engagement into the core functions of the university

Engagement Excellence Awards Winners

Mr Karl du Preez – Advanced Mechatronic Technology Centre, EBEIT

Dr Ann Lourens, Dr Karl van der Merwe and Mr Jaco Snyders – Industrial Engineering, EBEIT

Prof Werner Olivier – Govan Mbeki Mathematics Development Unit, Faculty of Science

Prof Ben Zeelie – InnoVenton, Faculty of Science

Questions and Comments


Non-Faculty based engagement activities 

Mr Martin Loubser - George Campus

Dr Nico Jooste - International Education

Ms Kim Elliot - Student Governance

Mr Ivor Baatjes – CIPSET

Mr Allan Zinn - CANRAD


Finger lunch

Prof Darelle van Greunen - EBEIT- Connected Communities in the Northern Areas

Ms Mary Duker and Mr David Jones – Faculty of Arts - Route 67 Art Walk

Prof Naydene de Lange – Faculty of Education – Not Leaving Data in the Dark

Prof Sandra Perks – Faculty of Business & Economic Sciences - ENACTUS

Mr Kempie van Rooyen – Faculty of Health Sciences - Rape and Society:  What is our profession?

Prof Cheryl Walter – Faculty of Health Sciences - PassPort to Health

Dr Andre du Plessis – Faculty of Education - Herman Olthaver Project




Mr Allan Zinn (CANRAD)

Dr Andre du Plessis (Education)

Dr Ann Lourens, Dr Karl van der Merwe & Mr Jaco Snyders (Industrial Engineering)

Prof Cheryl Walter (Human Movement Science)

Prof George de Lange (Engagement Office)

Mr Ivor Baatjes (CIPSET)

Mr Kempie van Rooyen (Psychology)

Ms Kim Elliot and students (Student Governance)

Ms Mary Duker and Mr David Jones (Arts)

Prof Naydene de Lange (Education)

Dr Nico Jooste (International Office)

Prof Sandra Perks (Business Management)

Mr Karl du Preez (Mechanical Engineering - AMTC)

Prof Ben Zeelie (InnoVenton)

Mr Martin Loubser (George Campus)

Prof Werner Olivier (Mathematics)

Prof Darelle van Greunen (Information Technology)

Prof Thoko Mayekiso (former DVC: Research and Engagement)